Let LOVE Shine

As I sat down to write my first blog post, writing about a horrifying terror event was not on my radar. But last night, my phone began buzzing and I saw the news about Manchester. I usually bite my tongue about these things, but today I cannot stay silent.

This event is personal to me. I’m a concert junkie, and I love the feeling of spending the night singing songs with hundreds of others. Concerts have always been a few hours of an “escape” from reality, where music takes over and just makes my worries fade away. I’ve met some amazing people at concerts and made more memories than I can count. Music is a therapy, an escape, and for that to be taken away by a terrorist attack, makes this personal.

It’s personal because at 16/17 years old, I was attending concerts with my best friends (sans parents), and this could have happened to me.

It’s personal because someone deliberately CHOSE to take the lives of others, and that does not sit well with me. My heart was filled with hurt and anger and sadness.

But as I continued reading the horrifying details of this attack, my hurt began turning to hope. Many teenagers were attending the concert alone and could not find their parents after the concert. Parents were trying to get in contact with their children. Hotels in Manchester began taking in children from the concert to give them a safe place to stay until they could be reunited with their families. The people of Manchester began using social media to help others find their loved ones. Residents of this beautiful city offered up their homes to allow people affected by this attack have a warm and safe place to stay.

The fact that this attack happened is awful, and nothing we can say or do will change this tragic event. But watching the people of Manchester rise up and help each other is incredible. Right after a terrorist attack, people were willing to invite strangers into their home to do everything they could for those affected. I saw some of the worst aspects of humanity, but I also saw some of the best. Even in the wake of tragedy, when we stand together, love ALWAYS wins.

 

“When you choose love over hate, faith over despair, and acceptance over intolerance, you are doing your part to change the world.” – Unknown

Leave a Reply

